The Best World Rally Cars – 1997 to 2021 : The World Rally Car Era of the World Rally Championship


World Rally Car documentary about the best rally cars using the FIA World Rally Car regulations from 1997 to 2021. We look at the best World Rally Cars from the past 25 World Rally Championship seasons in this WRC+ exclusive documentary. Watch the full documentary on WRC+ here :
Full List of all the WRC cars from 1997 to 2015, the WRC era :

Xsara WRC 2001 – 2006
C4 WRC 2007 – 2010
DS3 WRC 2011 – 2016
C3 WRC 2017 – 2019

Escort WRC 1997 – 1998
Focus RS WRC 1999 – 2010
Fiesta RS WRC 2011 – 2016
Fiesta WRC 2017 – 2021

Accent WRC 2000 – 2003
i20 WRC 2014 – 2016
i20 Coupe WRC 2017 – 2021

John Cooper Works WRC 2011 – 2012

Lancer Evolution WRC 2001 – 2002
Lancer WRC 2004 – 2005

206 WRC 1999 – 2003
307 WRC 2004 – 2005

Córdoba WRC 1998 – 2000

Octavia WRC 1999 – 2003
Fabia WRC 2003 – 2005

Impreza WRC 1997 – 2008

SX4 WRC 2007 – 2008

Corolla WRC 1997 – 1999
Yaris WRC 2017 – 2021

Polo R WRC 2013 – 2016

Do not miss the rally action, watch LIVE with a WRC+ subscription. Live cameras on stage, onboard and in the air, including expert analysis, behind the scenes stories, split times and real time GPS tracking. Your WRC+ subscription also gives you thousands of onboard videos, long rally highlights videos and other exclusive videos. So much WRC rally content available live or on demand anytime, on any device, only on WRC+ All Live. Find out how to subscribe here:​

More FREE rally videos, news and WRC results available at the WRC website​

Find out about the official WRC video game on PC, XBox, Playstation and Nintendo Consoles here.​

eSports WRC Championship, is open to anyone, driving on the same roads and stages as the real-life WRC.…​

Rally Fan? Merch, clothing and more at the official shop of the FIA World Rally Championship.​

Subscribe to this YouTube Channel for exclusive, frequent new rally videos.…​

Behind the scenes and more on Facebook.​

Videos, photos, stories and competitions to win on Instagram.​

News, results, photos, videos on Twitter.​

The WRC is the FIA World Rally Championship, a tough motorsport using rally cars on real roads around the world. Watch the best rally drivers battle on gravel and asphalt roads with mud, rain, dust, ice and heat! Watch high speed action as the rally drivers power slide and drift round narrow corners, go flat out over a big jump or through a watersplash, handbrake turn round a hairpin, survive a big moment, or have a massive crash! Rally requires maximum attack and careful tactics to become world rally champion.

Each rally has timed sections called special stages, on closed roads. Drivers complete these stages as quickly as possible. A co-driver reads pace notes that explain the hazards ahead. Rally drivers use the same rally car to travel to each stage on public roads, following normal traffic regulations. The crew which completes all the stages in the shortest time is the rally winner. Championship points are won using the same scoring system as Formula 1. The championship is administered by Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA), motorsport’s world governing body.

Some of the world’s greatest drivers have won the FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers, like Colin McRae, Carlos Sainz, Walter Röhrl, Stig Blomqvist, Petter Solberg, Ott Tänak. The list of world rally champions includes many Finnish rally drivers like Juha Kankkunen, Tommi Mäkinen, Ari Vatanen, Marcus Grönholm, Hannu Mikkola. French drivers have had success with Sébastien Ogier, and 9 times world champion Sébastien Loeb. Famous drivers from other motorsports have come to try rally driving like Ken Block from Rallycross, and Robert Kubica and Kimi Räikkönen from F1.

Car companies compete for the prestigious FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers awarded to the most successful WRC constructor. Winners include Citroen, Hyundai, Volkswagen and Peugeot. Ford have had success with the Ford Escort, Ford Focus and Ford Fiesta when the M-Sport team won in 2017.
The 1980’s featured the iconic Group B rally cars like the Lancia 037 and Delta S4, Peugeot 205 T16, MG Metro 6R4, Ford RS200 and Audi Quattro.
Japan dominated the 1990s with the Mitsubishi Lancer, Subaru Impreza, and Toyota Celica and Toyota Corolla. Toyota returned to the WRC in 2017 with the Toyota Yaris WRC, winning in 2018. Hyundai won in 2019 and 2020 with the Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC. Find out about the latest winners and champions at

#WRC #WRCDocumentary